Recent honors

HMZ Award for Helena Aicher and Michael Müller

“HMZ Award – The PhD challenge” honors a team of PhD students working towards a joint scientific idea, focusing on the collaboration’s quality and originality rather than the work’s scientific outcome. Thus, the award encourages PhD students to join forces across institutions, even if the chances of success are not foreseeable.

The prize was awarded to Helena Aicher, Department of Psychiatry, Psychotherapy and Psychosomatics at the University of Zurich and Michael Müller, Department of Health Science and Technology at the ETH Zurich. Their joint project titled “Neurodynamics of Prosocial Emotional Processing Following Serotonergic Stimulation With N,N-Dimethyltryptamine (DMT) and Harmine in Healthy Subjects.“ combined their knowledge about the molecular and biopharmacological mechanisms of the investigated substances with the appreciation of their phenomenological, psychological, and behavioral dimensions.

We congratulate the two winners and wish them all the best for their future careers in neuroscience and psychology.

More information about the award:

ZNZ PhD Grants 2023

The Board of the Bertha-Meierhofer Fund decided to support two young research groups with PhD Grants covering doctoral student salaries for two years each. Only applications from early-stage non-tenured group leaders were accepted last fall.

The following student projects are supported:

Farah Baracat, in the group of Elisa Donati, explores possibilities to improve the control of prosthetics by extracting more detailed information from surface electromyogram decomposition.
Nora Rentsch in Christian Tackenberg’s group would like to improve the graft survival of cell therapies for ischemic stroke.

For more information about ZNZ PhD Grants visit the ZNZ website.

Image: Jason Leung on unsplash