New Members Spring 2014

The Neuroscience Center Zurich welcomes its new members.

New ZNZ research group leaders:

I_Tritschler_150x150Isabel Tritschler, MD, PhD
Department of Neurology, University Hospital Zurich
Dr. Tritschler’s research focuses on the biology of malignant gliomas with emphasis on cancer stem cell research, cancer immunology, angiogenesis, mechanisms of invasion and migration, and resistance to radiotherapy and chemotherapy.
Group: 1 group leader, 2 PhD students, 1 technician

M_Cook_150x150Matthew Cook, PhD
Institute of Neuroinformatics, University of Zurich and ETH Zurich
Dr. Cook’s research includes modelling neural network learning dynamics, proposing neural models for high-level motor control, and developing algorithms for the automated reconstruction of neuron morphologies from serial-section electron microscopy data.
Group: 1 group leader, 1 postdoc, 5 PhD students

New junior research group leaders:

D_Peleg_150x150Daria Peleg-Raibstein, PhD
Institute for Food, Nutrition and Health,  ETH Zurich
Dr. Peleg investigates the link between fetal programming as influenced by maternal high-fat diet (equal to junk food in humans), the development of the brain reward circuits, and predisposition to obesity and addiction in the adult offspring using mice as a model system.
Group: 1 PhD student, 2 Master students, 2 Bachelor students and 1 research assistant

Weber_K_150x150Konrad P. Weber, MD
Departments of Neurology & Ophthalmology, University Hospital Zurich
Dr. Weber’s research focuses on the analysis of eye movements in patients with ocular motor and vestibular disorders. The goal is to develop diagnostic tests for these disorders based on video oculography and electromyography.

MariMT_Ferretti_150x150a Teresa Ferretti, PhD
Division of Psychiatric Research, University of Zurich
Dr. Ferretti’s research focuses on the interaction between the immune system and the central nervous system in health and in neurodegenerative disease such as Alzheimer’s.
Group: 1 group leader, 1 PhD student


Shiva TTyagaran_sw_150x150yagarajan, PhD
Institute of Pharmacology and Toxicology, University of Zurich
The focus of Dr. Tyagarajan’s group is on the identification of molecular mechanisms that regulate the postsynaptic apparatus at inhibitory synapses to uncover novel regulatory switches that facilitate rapid adaptations in GABAergic transmissions.
Group Members: 1 Group leader, 4 PhD students, 5 Master students, 1 Technician

New PhD students:

Giuseppe Castegnetti; Group of Dominik Bach, Zurich University Hospital for Psychiatry, UZH
Etna Engeli; Group of Erich Seifritz, Department of Psychology, UZH
Georges Hankov; Group of Markus Rudin, Institute for Biomedical Engineering, UZH and ETH
Eva-Maria Hock; Group of Magdalini Polymenidou, Institute of Molecular Life Sciences, UZH
Julia Kaiser; Group of Martin E. Schwab, Brain Research Institute, UZH

Sabine Probst; Group of Uwe Konietzko, Psychiatry Research, UZH
Pegah Kassraian Fard ; Group of Nicole Wenderoth, Neural Control of Movement Lab, ETH
Ke Li; Group of Markus Rudin, Institute for Biomedical Engineering, UZH and ETH


Maria Chernysheva; Group of Fritjof Helmchen, Brain Research Institute, UZH
Andrea Franz; Group of Ueli Suter, Institute for Molecular Health Sciences, ETH
Christoph Gericke; Group of Maria Teresa Ferretti; Psychiatry Research, UZH
Rea Lehner; Group of Nicole Wenderoth, Motor Control, ETH
Thomas Lorimer; Group of Ruedi Stoop, Institute of Neuroinformatics, UZH/ETH
Susanne Münzing; Group of Hans-Peter Landolt, Institute of Pharmacology & Toxicology, UZH
Yuan-Chen Tsai; Group of Shiva Tyagarajan, Institute of Pharmacology and Toxicology, UZH