New @ the ZNZ

The Neuroscience Center Zurich welcomes its new members.

New ZNZ research group leaders:

Annika KellerAnnika Keller, PhD
Division of Neurosurgery, University Hospital Zurich
Annika Keller’s research focuses on brain vasculature, in particular on pericytes and how pericyte-deficiency or dysfunction leads to neurodegeneration. 


Bea_LatalProf. Dr. med. Bea Latal
Child Development Center, Dept. of Pediatrics, University Children’s Hospital Zurich
Bea Latal’s clinical and research interest focuses on newborns and children at risk for neurodevelopmental disorders, in particular children born with a congenital heart disease. More


JeanPascal_PfisterProf. Jean-Pascal Pfister
Institute of Neuroinformatics, UZH / ETH Zurich
Jean-Pascal Pfister is an SNF professor leading a theoretical group working on probabilistic inference and statistical learning applied to neuroscience, in particular synaptic plasticity. More


New junior research group leaders:

Patrick FreundPatrick Freund, MD, PhD
Spinal Cord Injury Center, University Hospital Balgrist
Patrick Freund is interested in developing neuroimaging biomarkers for predicting functional outcome of therapeutic treatments and rehabilitative interventions in disorders involving the spinal cord. More


Christian Tackenberg

Christian Tackenberg, PhD
Division of Psychiatry Research, University of Zurich
Christian Tackenberg investigates the molecular mechanisms of Alzheimer’s disease in neuronal cultures, especially how the proteins beta-amyloid and tau cause neurodegeneration and synaptic loss. More


New PhD students:

Max Li, Group of Bruno Weber, Institute of Pharmacology and Toxicology, UZH
Martina Pagani, Group of Hanns Ullrich Zeilhofer, Institute of Pharmacology and Toxicology, UZH

Paranchai Boonsawat, Group of Anita Rauch, Institute of Medical Genetics, UZH
Aniruddh Galgali, Group of Valerio Mante, Institute of Neuroinformatics, UZH
Horea-Ioan Ioanas, Group of Markus Rudin, Institute of Biomedical Engineering, ETH
Kasifa Khalid, Group of Edith Schneider Gasser, Institute of Veterinary Physiology, UZH
Markus Marks, Group of Mehmet Fatih Yanik, Institute of Biomedical Engineering, ETH
Clemens Schroeder, Group of  Mike Martin, Dept of Psychology, UZH
Giorgio Ulrich, Group of Magdalini Polymenidou, Institute of Pharmacology and Toxicology, UZH
Dominik Wyser, Group of Rogger Gassert, Rehabilitation Lab, D-MAVT, ETH

Edveena Hanser, Group of Hanns Ullrich Zeilhofer, Institute of Pharmacology and Toxicology, UZH
Martina Stefanovic, Group of Ulrich Mehnert, Balgrist University Hospital Zurich
Sara Tomiello, Group of Klaas Enno Stephan,Translational Neuromodeling Unit, UZH / ETH
Michel Wälti, Group of Nicole Wenderoth,
Josephin Wagner, Group of Annika Keller, Neurosurgery, University Hospital Zurich