Welcome to the ZNZ

The Neuroscience Center Zurich welcomes its new members.

New ZNZ research group leaders:

Picotti150X150Prof. Paola Picotti
Institute of Biochemistry, ETH Zurich

As an SNSF Assistant Professor at ETH Zurich, Paola Picotti applies proteomic techniques to quantitatively study the formation of protein aggregates in cells and their functional and pathological consequences. More

schnyder150x150Prof. Dr. med. Ulrich Schnyder
Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy, University Hospital Zurich
Ulrich Schnyder is the director of the Department of Psychiatry and Psychotherapy. His research concentrates on the epidemiology, neurobiology and therapy of post-traumatic stress disorder. More

lutterotti_150X150Prof. Dr. med. Andreas Lutterotti
Neurology Clinic, University Hospital Zurich
Andreas Lutterotti is Assistant Professor for Experimental Therapy Research in Multiple Sclerosis and other Neurologic Diseases at the University of Zurich. His main research interests are neural and myelin protection and repair mechanisms, in particular immune system tolerization against multiple sclerosis. More


 New junior research group leader:

Waelchli_150X150Thomas Wälchli, MD/PhD
Dept of Neurosurgery, University Hospital Zurich & Brain Research Institute, UZH
Thomas Wälchli investigates the cellular and molecular mechanisms that govern angiogenesis in the central nervous system (CNS) during development as well as in CNS pathologies such as brain tumors and vascular malformations. More


New PhD students:

Arwa Baeshen, Group of Spyros Kollias, Neuroradiology Clinic, USZ
Ladina Hösli, Group of Bruno Weber, Institute of Pharmacology and Toxicology, UZH
Peter Dziennik, Group of Jean-Pascal Pfister; Institute of Neuroinformatics, UZH/ETH
Ilya Kiselev, Group of Shih-Chii Liu, Institute of Neuroinformatics, UZH/ETH
Suraj Honnuraiah, Group of Kevan Martin, Institute of Neuroinformatics, UZH/ETH

Sven Bachofner, Group of Ueli Suter, Institute of Molecular Health Sciences, ETH
Chiara Foglieni, Group of Magdalini Polymenidou, Institute of Molecular Life Sciences, UZH
Diana Rodrigues,  Group of Richard Hahnloser, Institute of Neuroinformatics, UZH/ETH
Carina Volk, Group of Reto Huber, University Children’s Hospital, UZH