Research News

New tools to fight JC virus

Prof. Roland Martin and colleagues, together with the company Neurimmune, have developed recombinant antibodies as potential treatment of a serious infectious disease of the brain caused by the human polyoma tumor virus JC. What is […]


PhD Thesis completed!

Congratulations! The following students have completed their PhD thesis in the last six months:  Michael Arzt, Brain Research Institute, University of Zurich (Supervisor: Prof. Martin Schwab) 24 September 2015 Structural Analysis of the Interface between […]


Recent publications by ZNZ members

Read here about recent papers published by members of the Neuroscience Center Zurich. Immunotherapy for glioblastoma: concepts and challenges. Curr Opin Neurol. 2015 Dec;28(6):639-46 Authors: Weiss T, Weller M, Roth P New frontiers in neurooncology. […]


New @ the ZNZ

The Neuroscience Center Zurich welcomes its new members. New ZNZ research group leaders: Prof. Dr. Frank Scharnowski Psychiatric University Hospital Zurich To study brain functions, Frank Scharnowski manipulates brain activity and subsequently determines how such […]


Cloëtta Prize 2015 goes to Helmchen

On November 13, Fritjof Helmchen of the Brain Research Institute was awarded the 2015 Cloëtta Prize, together with Dominique Soldati-Favre of the University of Geneva. The award ceremony took place at the Centre Médicale Universitaire […]

Research News

HMZ seed funding for ZurichMOVE

How do we know whether training or medical therapy is successful in patients with movement deficits? This question prompted Profs. William Taylor, Armin Curt and Roger Gassert to start the project ZurichMOVE. Its goal is […]

Calls for Proposals

UCL-ZNZ funding open for application

UCL Neuroscience and ZNZ invite group leaders to apply for funding for pilot projects. The submission deadline is 22 January 2016. The partnership agreement between ZNZ and University College London (UCL) Neuroscience aims at strengthening […]


2015 ZNZ PhD grants

On December 3, the ZNZ Steering Committee has awarded two PhD grants. The grants, each covering a doctoral student’s salary for one year, go to ZNZ group leaders Shiva Tyagarajan of the Institute of Pharmacology […]